FDA Warning Plan Webinar Today

FDA webinar to detail health warning label rotation plans today

Published in Tobacco E-News

By
Thomas A. Briant, Executive Director

The FDA Center for Tobacco Products will conduct a webinar today, Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2011, at 2 p.m. eastern time (1 p.m. central, 12 p.m. mountain and 11 a.m. pacific time). The main topic of the webinar will be warning plans that need to be submitted to the FDA by manufacturers regarding the rotation of health warning labels on cigarette and smokeless tobacco packaging and advertising. The FDA has confirmed that a portion of the webinar will also briefly review the requirements for retailers to submit a warning plan, if they create their own cigarette and/or smokeless tobacco advertisements.

To attend the webinar on October 18th, please click here to be taken to the FDA's Center for Tobacco Products Web page regarding tobacco compliance webinars. Then, scroll down the page to the heading "Webinar Viewing Information," and click on the link next to "Windows Media Player" or "Microsoft Silverlight Player" to watch the webinar. If you plan to call in and listen to the webinar, the toll-free call-in number is 1-866-901-3913, and you will need to enter Meeting ID Number 60985.

Click here for a copy of the FDA's Draft Guidance titled "Submission of Warning Plans for Cigarettes and Smokeless Tobacco Products." This draft guidance reflects the FDA's current thinking on how the agency plans to interpret the regulations requiring that manufacturers, importers, distributors and retailers, if applicable, file warning label rotational plans.